Magazine Slovakia

UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Slovakia

Bratislava, Slovakia – When Spiš Castle, the village of Vlkolínec, and the historic town of Banská Štiavnica were proclaimed to be World Heritage sites in 1993, Slovakia became the fourth and last Central European country to have sites included on the UNESCO list.

Out of a total of only eight, the country has two natural sites, the most in the region, both of them shared with other countries.

Spišský Hrad, Levoča and the Associated Cultural Monuments (1993)


Spišský Hrad, also known as Spiš Castle, has one of the largest ensembles of 13th and 14th century military, political and religious buildings in eastern Europe. The extended site also features the addition of the historic town-centre of Levoča founded in the 13th and 14th centuries. Most of the site has been preserved and it includes the 14th century church of St James with its ten alters of the 15th and 16th centuries.

Vlkolínec (1993)


Vlkolínec, situated in the centre of Slovakia, is a remarkably intact settlement of 45 buildings with the traditional features of a central European village. It is the region’s most complete group of these kinds of traditional log houses, often found in mountainous areas.

Historic Town of Banská Štiavnica and the Monuments in its Vicinity (1993)


Over the centuries, the town of Banská Štiavnica was visited by many outstanding engineers and scientists who contributed to its fame. The old medieval mining centre grew into a town with Renaissance palaces, 16th-century churches, elegant squares and castles. The urban centre blends into the surrounding landscape, which contains vital relics of the mining and metallurgical activities of the past.

Caves of Aggtelek Karst and Slovak Karst (1995) – with Hungary


The variety of formations and the fact that they are concentrated in a restricted area means that the 712 caves currently identified make up a typical temperate-zone karstic system. Because they display an extremely rare combination of tropical and glacial climatic effects, they make it possible to study geological history over tens of millions of years.

Bardejov Town Conservation Reserve (2000)

2088.Bardejov Town - Photo by Albertine Slotboom

Bardejov is a small but exceptionally complete and well-preserved example of a fortified medieval town, which typifies the urbanisation in this region. Among other remarkable features, it also contains a small Jewish quarter around a fine 18th-century synagogue.

Ancient and Primeval Beech Forests of the Carpathians and Other Regions (2007)


This transboundary property stretches over 12 countries: Albania, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Germany, Italy, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Ukraine. Since the end of the last Ice Age, European Beech spread from a few isolated refuge areas in the Alps, Carpathians, Dinarides, Mediterranean and Pyrenees over a short period of a few thousand years in a process that is still ongoing.

The successful expansion across a whole continent is related to the tree’s adaptability and tolerance of different climatic, geographical and physical conditions. Primeval Beech Forests of the Carpathians cover areas of the regions of Zakarpattia, in Ukraine, and of Prešov, in Slovakia.

Wooden Churches of the Slovak part of the Carpathian Mountain Area (2008)


The Wooden Churches of the Slovak part of Carpathian Mountain Area inscribed on the World Heritage List consist of two Roman Catholic, three Protestant and three Greek Orthodox churches built between the 16th and 18th centuries.

The property presents good examples of a rich local tradition of religious architecture, marked by the meeting of Latin and Byzantine cultures. The edifices exhibit some typological variations in their floor plans, interior spaces and external appearance due to their respective religious practices.

Frontiers of the Roman Empire – The Danube Limes (2021)

Featuring components from Austria, Germany and Slovakia (regions of Bratislava and Nitra), the Western Segment of the so-called Danube Limes cover almost 600 km of the whole Roman Empire’s Danube frontier. This network of fortifications along the Danube river, added to the UNESCO World Heritage List in 2021, forms only a part of the frontier of the former Roman Empire that encircled the Mediterranean Sea.

After Slovakia, don’t forget to also check out UNESCO World Heritage Sites in HungaryUNESCO World Heritage Sites in Poland and UNESCO World Heritage Sites in the Czech Republic.

Headed by Kafkadesk's chief-editor Jules Eisenchteter, our Prague office gathers over half a dozen reporters, editors and contributors, as well as our social media team. It covers everything Czech and Slovak-related, and oversees operations from our other Central European desks in Krakow and Budapest.

1 comment on “UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Slovakia